Writings based on Prompts

Writing Prompt #1

“You, you are the worst thing that has ever happened to me.”

The words had come easy to her. Things that had been embedded into her thoughts for weeks tended to come out at the worst of times. There was no remorse in her eyes, though her breathing was heavy as if she had yelled the words out.

As it were, she hadn’t, and now the receiver of such words could only stare at her with his mouth agape.

She sighs, lets herself plop down on the couch behind her, and stares at the unfinished work in front of her. All her previous motivation gone.

“You’re not such a ball of sunshine yourself, you know?” He finally speaks up and goes to sit beside her. Because-even if she had admitted something that should leave him destroyed- this was not really anything new.

“Shut up.”

“You and I, we keep each other going with this fuel that comes from deceit and jealousy, possessiveness, anger, and,” he pauses, “and I don’t understand why.”

“Beats me.” She lies back, turning her head towards him as she wonders how many times this moment has played out in the past two years.

This moment, however, felt definite.

“You’ve always had such a way with words.” He smiles slightly, the crooked smile she had witnessed less often recently was barely noticeable

“And you are condescending.” Her eyes look tired, he notices. He feels the same. “I don’t want this for us anymore.”

He nods because he knows and he voices so.

“I just,” she stands up, looks at anything but him, “I just love you so much, and I know you love me as well. I know we both see a future together but this isn’t healthy. This isn’t what either of us deserve.”

“I know.” He stands up as well, “I know we’ll never be able to fix this.”

The silence that takes over the apartment is deafening when all you have to compare it to is either laughter that lasts a couple of hours or  yelling and arguments that lasted longer than either would like to admit.

He can’t help but chuckle at the situation. All this time, since the day she kissed him on their second date, he was sure she’d be the best thing that ever happened to him.

And despite the many things that they disagreed on, he could- without a doubt- agree with her on one point.

“You are the worst thing that’s ever happened to me as well.”

____________________________________________________________________________________________
I’m trying to get more into writing and I found this writing prompt, “You are the worst thing that has ever happened to me.”

Honestly, it’s very mediocre, but I’ve been out of practice for 6 years now. Anyway, thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

